Monday, June 28, 2010

1979 Ford Escort 1800 MK2 Team Rothmans Acropolis Rally Winner

This is the 5th round of the FIA World Rally Championships in Athens, Greece were Bjorn Waldegard and co driver Hans Thorzelius claimed victory in this 2974km including 1008km over 54 special stages of gravel roads.

This is the Ford Escort Team Rothmans Acropolis Rally Winner. Diecast model in 1:18 by Sunstar.

Sunday, June 20, 2010

31st Marlboro Safari Rally

This is the 4th round of the 1983 FIA World Rally Championships in Nairobi, Kenya.
Michele Mouton with co-driver Fabrizia Pons took 3rd over all in this gruelling 5035km of gravel terrain.
Model came with separate Marlboro decals which I placed.

Diecast made by Trofeu in 1:43 scale.

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

1998 TAP Rally of Portugal

This is the Team Mitsubishi Ralliart Carisma GT Evolution IV of  Uwe Nittel (Germany) and co-driver Tina Thorner (Sweden) that ended with a DNF due to engine failure. There teamates, the late Richard Burns and co-driver Robert Reid finished 4th overall in the 1998 TAP Rally of Portugal.

Diecast by Vitesse in 1:43 scale

Thursday, June 10, 2010

A Toast to Attilio Bettega, a great rally driver!

This is my simple tribute to one of rally's great drivers, Attilio Bettega (1953-1985)

This Lancia 037 Rally di Monza  with Maurizio Perissinot drove a nice overall race with 49 points standing 5th in the drivers final classification. Sadly, in a race in Corsica at the 4th stage, Attilio lost control of his Lancia and hit a tree, killing him instantly. His co driver survived uninjured.

This is the 1:18 scale Kyosho Lancia 037 Rally di Monza version.

Friday, June 4, 2010

Subaru Impreza 2002 Rally Monte Carlo

This is Tommi Makinen's first Impreza with Team Subaru World Rally in 2002. He won the Rally Monte Carlo with this car with his co-driver Kaj Lindstrom and finished with a time of 3:59.30 of 1463.19km including 396.78km over 15 special stages mostly asphalt roads.

Diecast in 1:43 scale by Autoart

Tuesday, June 1, 2010

44ème Rallye Automobile de Monte-Carlo

This is the 1976 winner of the 44th Rally Monte Carlo

The Lancia Stratos Alitalia driven by
Sandro Munari with co driver Silvio Maiga
who finished with an overall time of 6:25.10
4500 km including 530 km over 23 special stages
Special stage surface:   Asphalt occasionally covered with snow and ice

Diecast Made by Kyosho in 1:18scale